The Hitching Post

February 28, 2010


As you may remember, I tore my way through the drifts of snow that were nearly up to my sideburns in an attempt to put my wounded body as far from the Darcarre as possible.

Then I got a ride.

And what a ride it was/is.

Her name is Hannah. She is a petite blonde with blazing green eyes not to different in hue from my own. At first I hoped that she might have been another servant of Yig sent to aid me, but my subtle hints were met with puzzled stares, although she was forthcoming with he own hints of a different sort. I’ve have some bad experiences with blondes in the past, but for her I was willing to make an exception.

Things were going well and I had almost forgotten I was a hunted man until she noticed the blood. She slammed on the breaks and we were nearly hit by the car behind us. Despite their honking, she refused to start the car until I was able to convince her that the blood was my own and I was in trouble.

Her nurturing instinct must have kicked in, because she started the car and insisted that she take me to a hospital. I was even more adamantly insisting that  this was something that I couldn’t allow to happen and since I have already healed the worst of my wounds it wasn’t really necessary, but I didn’t tell her that part.

So instead we stopped at the base of Lizardhead Trail and talked. A few hours later it was hard to tell which of us was falling for the other more. After locking lips for another hour after that, she was more that happy to spring for a hotel room and I told her I was willing as long as we were heading north.

Snow began to fall as darkness set in. The roads were becoming bad and the narrow headlights were soon dimmed by an endless blast of snow. It was my hope that this storm might even scare these Darcarre inside.

Somehow we made it to a little hotel know as the Lonely Oak. After we went up to the room, there were a few moments of nervious tension, because the room only held one bed. Soon this didn’t remain a problem. Let me tell you spending the night with Hannah was as wonderful as spending spending the night in the leaking miner’s cabin had sucked.

There is still no sign of the Darcarre and I can only hope that I am in the clear. I’m sighing of now. There is a warm woman waiting for me.

Jack

 

You can find out how Jack started his adventures here!

 

 

Jack Primus

Jack Primus

Leave a Reply

