Fire on the Mountain

April 20, 2010


The guy’s name was Ethan, and I frankly didn’t like how his eyes lingered on Hannah’s form every time she moved. I know Hannah and I hadn’t been together too long, but I was growing increasingly fond of this warrior women. Luckily for all involved, she didn’t share in Ethan’s interest.

We had driven a long way. In my eyes too long. I wanted to escape for a moment, but I was never one to want to leave a Xommoni nest uncleaned.  But when you’re a snake your options tend to be limited.

When I was a Human and found out we were already in flipping Utah, I grew angry.

“”Hey, man,” I said. “I wasn’t ready to give up the battle, we were almost winning.”

“Oh yeah,” Ethan said, while lighting up a smoke. “Seems like you were happy to leave to me.”

“There is a difference between regrouping and running away.”

He blew smoke between his teeth. “Okay, next time I save your ass, I’ll take a poll first.”

Hannah was going through our meager possessions and threw them onto the park’s picnic table with a loud clang. Behind her the ruby rocks surrounded her golden hair with a mystic glow. Throwing out a hip, she said, “let me guess, you’re a lad of Loki.”

He smiled. “How did you know?”

“Oh please,” she said, “I think the real question is, why are you here? There has to be a reason and I would also like to know who sent you.”

“Sheesh, there is no pleasing some people. You try to save some folks and…”

His words trailed off as a group of over a dozen bikers began to pour into the national mounument’s paking lot.

“Why do I have the feeling this is going to suck?” I said.

“Yeah, I bet it will,” Ethan said and before we start, I just want to make it clear it’s your fault not mine and if I help you get through this one, I want some respect.”

“We’ll see if you can earn it.”

Then they came.

Like what you see?

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=the+chronicles+of+jack+primus&x=13&y=20

Leave a Reply

