Basking In The Darkness Part I

July 7, 2010


A boot to the face is one of my least favorite ways to be woken up, right behind being tossed into a vat of acid.

“Wake up you muscle headed bastard,” a gruff voice said. Of course wherever I was remained completely stygian, but from the sounds of things, there were three or four Xemmoni with me, happily bathing me with their harsh garlic breath.

“So why are you pukes keeping me alive, haven’t been beat up enough latterly?”

That earned me a kick in the ribs.

“So what?” a said, spitting out a mouthful of blood. “Are you guys gonna ask me some questions or are you just going to try to annoy me to death?”

“What is it with you Stalwarts? Are you all required to take wise cracks 101?”

“Yeah, but it’s only half the price of the Xemmoni lengthy pre-death spech class.” One of the men chuckled and then yelped when he got slapped.

I started to try to gather my feet under me, when the same voice said, “don’t try anything Stalwart, at least not until you hear us out, because we have a bargain for you.”

“Oh, I can’t wait to hear it. Do I get to pick how I’ll be tortured to death?” There was no extra laughing this time.

“Mind yourself, or we might figure you aren’t worth it.”

“Okay, I’m listening. Worth what?” A match flickered to life and two black candles were lit. Oh… I was so shocked to find out they were Darcarre.

Fours dark shapes mixed with the shadows. One drew nearer, his pale face contrasting sharply with the controlling darkness. “It’s quite simple really. We want you to kill someone. If you do it, we’ll let both you and your bitch go. If you don’t, she dies, the other big mouth dies, and obviously you die too.”

Looking around, I said, “don’t you think you should have brought more men if you plan to make that last part stick?”

He growled. “Just shut the hell up and listen or I’ll start having a few ears removed. My name is Klich and-”

My hand moved like a striking snake and wrapped itself around his throat. “Threaten me again and you all die, period. Give me a reason I shouldn’t kill you all, rescue my friends, and burn this place to the ground in about eight seconds or you’ll be the first to go.”

“I can think of two,” he wheezed. “Firstly, if anything happened to me, your Hannah dies. Second, the person I want you to kill is The Creeper.”

Would you like to find out more about what happened to Jack and his journey to become a Stalwart? Then check out the book of his first adventures!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

