The Last Night Before the End of our Lives

December 7, 2010


I felt  a bit sick and tainted letting the Splinter Darcarre heal me, but what’s a guy going to do? I tell one thing, camp life sure got a hell of a lot stranger. Ellis and Kimberly were super put off by all the creepy moping figures in black that lurked in every shadow, but then again, so were the rest of us. Ethan seemed the least disturbed, especially when he busted out the cards and started winning their money.

It was a long strange night and a big part of me wanted to stay up so I could keep an eye on our so called ‘allies,’ but exhaustion won out and we crashed in the van. Or at least the two couples did. Luckily, I was able to have a little fun with Hannah before the others arrived. I wasn’t too tired for that.

The next day a few things happened. Upon waking in the cold morning, I found the Splinter Darcarre wrapped in their cloaks like corrupted moths malingering in their dark cocoons. It also didn’t take long too notice that they had, from the looks of things, tortured Bucky to death. Oh well, I hated that guy anyway.

After filling myself on a lovely breakfast of bacon and peanuts, I went over and kicked Klich’s boots. “Huh, what?”

“I think we should have a little talk.”

“What, now, in the middle of the day?”

“Yeah dumb ass, in case you haven’t remembered the world could end tonight.”

Sitting up, he tossed some dark sunglasses over his brown eyes and said, “okay, what’s on your mind?”

Jerking a thumb towards the tattered corpse of Bucky, I said, “You learn anything useful?”

“He told me they will be gathering every Darcarre that supports Vile from all over the country. There will be Caradon and Glooms there too, and probably even a few Nexus and who knows what else. My guess is that there will probably be over two hundred Xemmoni there with many of them being quite powerful. Some of my men want to just hide, thinking that if we stay on the run we might have a better chance to survive if only for a while.”

“That sucks.”

“Why is that?”

“Because I can use all the help I can get.”

“You still want to go up against them even when they are so many?”

“Of course, what other choice do we have?”

“I hope you have a plan.”

“I’m still working on that.”


Like the action and need more. Well check out The Chronicles of Jack Primus here!!!

Leave a Reply

