Humanity’s Last Dying Gasp

February 7, 2011


I smashed into a hulking Darcarre with both my boots. There was a thundering crack, and the scumbag was dead before he hit the ground. I snatched his spiked mace out of the air, as I fell, and was already laying into people before my feet joined his body at the edge of the pinnacle. At once, I had a strange feeling of déjà vu, because I was in the same situation I had been in before, surrounded and helplessly outnumbered by Darcarre.

Only this time they were trying to sacrifice Hannah, not me.

Darcarre were grabbing at my clothes and trying to get a hold, but I was swinging my mace around like a blind manic batter. In the distance, I heard the shouting of what could have been my allies, but they would have to fight their way through almost a hundred Xemmoni before they could help me out here at the edge of the drop off.

“Stop, the fool,” Edgar was shouting. “Come, you imbeciles, he is only one man!”

Black robes fluttered around me until I felt like I was covered with a thousand angry bats. Weapons came at me from every direction. I ducked and weaved as I could and was often rewarded with a yell when one of the Darcarre struck their fellow. From somewhere, a large dagger was able to fill my left hand and I laid into their masses with twin attacks, but Edgar was screaming. No matter how I tried, it might not be enough.

A stream of curses exploded from my lips and I redoubled my efforts. I was bleeding from twenty wounds and had already healed myself twice, but I could finally see Edgar and the prone form of Hannah. She was unconscious, but at least still lived, but that wouldn’t last long if I didn’t act fast.

“You are too late Primus, the dark Moon raises between the peeks. You and everything your kind holds dear is about to be expunged!”

Hands had my jacket and I let them restrain me. I had a plan. “No don’t kill him yet, let him watch. I want him to know the doom that is in store for his world.” 

”The Gate opens!” I watched in horror as a hundred sickly maggot forms spilled out of a hole in the sky. White bloated things with wretched wings that dripped a foul mucus.

“Migo, you evil fuck! You’re opening a gate for the damn Migo!” I screamed. 

He only laughed.

“Yes, indeed, and now I have to but stab this dagger through her heart to make the gate permanent and then your world shall be ours!”

Edgar’s dagger flashed up and all I could think was, this had better work

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!!!!

One Response to “Humanity’s Last Dying Gasp”

  1. Gunnar said

    On the edge of my frick’n seat!!!

Leave a Reply

