More Mystery, Less Answers

March 14, 2011


“It seems like we’ll never get all this seagull shit off these tiles,” a red robed figure grumbled as he continued to scrub at the floor on his hands and knees.

The Humming Bird Cathedral was colossal by any standards. And yet, it was as empty as it was huge. Besides a few men performing unknown tasks at widely spaced intervals, the place was barren. Dark and barren. Evenly placed torches cast just enough light to keep one from banging into the pillars, which supported the roof that must have been up there somewhere within the clinging black.

The strangest thing though was, “I can’t help feeling like I’ve been here before, but I’m not sure how.”

“I think I would have remembered if you were here, Jack. Any of you,” Ethan said.

“What the hell is that supposed to mean, any of me?”

Hannah groaned. “Let’s not start this up all over again. Whatever little he knows isn’t going to help you.”

“You are making it sound like you know something too.”

She was saved from answering by the sudden appearance of what might best be described as a Viking long table complete with platters of meat and horns or what was probably mead. I barely noticed it, however, for my eyes were locked upon the figure at its head.

The man was clothed from head to foot with scarlet and black leathers, including his face, which was covered in a blood red mask. From his body hung an assortment of daggers and at least two swords. His eyes blazed like two fiery coals and he waved them forward while he continued to stand.

“Well met, fellow Stalwarts.” He nodded his head toward Ethan in the briefest of acknowledgements. “It is a rare treat to meet one such as you, Jack Primus. I have heard much about you these past years. It is an honor to at last be in your presence or at least be in your presence while you are able to speak.” He chuckled at this last line, like he was privy to some private joke.

I didn’t let it lie. “What do you mean, with me being able to speak? This place does seem slightly familiar. Was I a prisoner here without my knowledge or something?”

He laughed. “Oh hardly. You were just… how can I put this delicately, rather young.”

“To young to talk? You aren’t making any sense. What the Hell-”

“Come, sit, sit. It isn’t anything that needs to bother you and it was certainly not this incarnation that stands before me.”

Rushing forward, I drew a dagger and stabbed it deeply into the table. My words escaped through gritted teeth. “I’m not going to let this sit. What sorta of secrets are you keeping from me? If you know something about me, you better tell me NOW!”

 “Oh dude, don’t threaten him. He’s like Loki’s son.”

 “Ethan, shut the hell up!”

 I could almost sense him smiling under his mask. “Mr. Primus, if you indeed want me to tell you more about your true nature, then I think you really should be sitting down first.”

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!!!!

Leave a Reply

