We Wait, While Others Die

April 11, 2011


“What’s wrong Jack,” Hannah almost whispered before laying her petite fingers across my shoulders. “I mean besides the obvious.”

Swiveling my chair, until I was facing her, I said, “I’ve been trying not to think about it, but I’m worried about Ellis and Kimberly. I have a vague hope that they maybe escaped with the Splinter Darcarre, although even that option isn’t particularly thrilling. But part of me wonders how any of them could escape so many Migo backed up by nearly a hundred members of the Dark Alliance.”

“They saved my life, Hannah…it’s just…”

“I know,” she said softly before embracing me in a long hug. As we held each other, I took in the dingy hotel we had claimed as our own. It wasn’t much, but since it bordered the edge of town, it hadn’t been covered with the Migo’s cementing slime. Apparently even their resources could be limited.

Our attempt at a tender moment was interrupted by Ethan bursting into the room. “Um, er, sorry… but night is going to fall soon and I was wondering what the game plan was.”

I took in the man in red with a sigh, and indicated a chair. Hannah took one too. “The game plan is…we wait.”

Hannah couldn’t conceal her gasp. “What to you mean? Couldn’t more people get hurt if we do nothing?”

“Without a doubt, but we have to face the facts. We would have a hard time taking on all the remaining members of the Dark Alliance. Remember the Darcarre are the only Xemmoni that can heal. Taking on a hundred Migo, well, that would be suicidal.”

“But what about Ellis and Kimberly? And all the people in this town. Couldn’t we try to save some of them?”

“Right now it’s too risky. If we die, they all die. I’m afraid, as much as we all hate it; we have to look at the big picture and how we will be able to do the most good.”

Ethan took a sip of some SKA Ale he had dug up. “I don’t hate it.”

“Well I do!” Hannah was almost in tears. “I never thought I’d see you let innocents die, Jack.”

“If giving my life would help them, then I would, but this is one case where it wouldn’t even matter. We have to stay hidden, because tonight we only have one goal.”

Ethan perked up. “Oh yeah, what’s that?”

 “We have to find out where they are nesting, because tomorrow I’m taking out the whole fucking swarm!”

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

