Hero or Fool

April 25, 2011


As soon as I started heading toward the whimpers and screams, I knew I was an idiot. How could I be so stupid? Thousands could perish without me being here to stop the Darcarre and their Migo allies, but I was going to throw it all away because I couldn’t stand hearing these kids die, or was it that I couldn’t live with myself if Hannah knew that I had let them suffer?

Chicks, they always made you do stupid things.

The outrage against humanity wasn’t hard to spot. On the west side of the street a residential home had most of its roof torn away. The pieces of it littered the ground like it had been raining splinters and shingles.

The ebony forms of two Darcarre lingered outside in the front yard, like even their wickedness was not enough to allow them to witness what was going on inside. Over the house three Migo dripped some type of mucus, like spiders flinging webbing, onto the moaning forms that must have still been trapped inside.

Shifting my war hammer into my left hand, I readied a throwing knife and lunched it, just as I sprinted at the Darcarre. They turned in time for the dagger to take the one on the left. There was a hollow thud, when it imbedded in the center of his chest.

Then I was on the second one before they could react. My war hammer batted his head off his shoulders with a bone snapping bloody explosion. “Heal that you bastard,” I said through gritted teeth. “Don’t worry kids, I’m coming!”

The second Darcarre had yanked the dagger from his chest and had undoubtedly healed himself. But instead of fighting, he turned and tried to flee into the half ruined home.

He must have recognized me.

I crashed in after him. Stray boards shattered or were crushed underfoot with our passing. He was about to try to escape when my hammer took him in the side of the neck and he crumpled to the floor. I gave him a double tap, just to be sure.

Then the flutish singing of the Migo could be heard. One of their numbers was flying in toward me. On the floor three half cocooned children looked up at me with wide eyes.

A score of undulating tendencies poured out of is white bloated, maggot body.

It seemed almost curious. That would be short lived. Racing at top speed, I ran onto the top of the dining room table and then leapt into the air. The Migo chirped in fear. It knew it had gotten too close and that would also be its last thought, for my hammer crushed into a good foot of where its head would be, if it had one. The creature fell with me on top of it, smashing and hacking.

I managed to kill it, but then tentacles were all around me. Seconds later, my hammer was torn from my hands and tossed away, and then the mucus came. I tried to fight it, but there were still two of them and the wet webbing was too strong. 

Soon I was being mummified just as badly as the kids were. Some savior I turned out to be, I thought, as a stream of curses erupted from my lips. Minutes later the two Migo were lifting me and the children. It didn’t cheer me up at all knowing that I would finally be finding out where their base was.

 

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

