The Climax to Mountain of Madness

September 19, 2011


One of the wounded dust-covered Glooms was before me. It was stunned by the avalanche and didn’t even see me coming before my monster sized hammer was brought down into the center of its skull. Little could survive such a blow and his head explodes like a rotten melon.

The second wounded Gloom did see me coming, for all the good it did him. My hammer took him in the chest and I heard about eight ribs shatter, before the fiend went flying backwards into the roaring blaze. Its old robe caught on fire at once and it screamed and screamed, as it ran wildly through the night. For a moment, his flaming body lit the area like a dozen torches, but then his scream slowly grew fainter, for in its panic the Gloom had toppled off the edge of the cliff.

There were still two left and they were ready for me. Twin Flesh To Mist Bestows crashed into me. First my clothes and then my flesh were transformed. Like water evaporating into steam, parts of my arm just weren’t there. I thought I saw my bones in a few places and it was my turn to scream.

That was when Ethan bathed the pair in a sheet of Loki’s flame. They cursed him and two Flesh To Mist Bestows went at my ally. There was a piercing cry and Ethan toppled over backwards. I could only hope that the pain had only rendered him unconscious and somehow my friend still lived.

A quick glance told me Hannah was still out, so it looked like I was on my own. The fires were no longer burning the Glooms and their smoking forms turned back toward me. A good thirty feet separated us, which certainly gave them the advantage.

“Crap.”

There was no way I could reach them in time, but my hammer could and went flying in slow lazy arcs toward the one on the right. It hit the Gloom with a resounding crack and then both it and my hammer went over the side of the cliff.

“Damn, I really liked that hammer.”

“I bet you liked your life too,” the remaining Gloom hissed, “and you’re about to lose that as well.”

It raised its hands for another Flesh To Mists. I had been hit with so many that night, I could barely keep count, but I was out of Ki and doubted I could take another one and remain conscious and if I lost consciousness we would all be doomed.

That was when a blessed holy light dispelled the dark. The Gloom cried in agony and this time looked like he voluntarily leapt of the side of the cliff in order to avoid the stinging rays of Apollo’s righteousness. I rushed over to Hannah who was still both chained to the stone alter and also very naked.

A hug later, I said, “you saved me.”

“There’s only so much screaming that a girl can sleep through. Now, I know you’ve said you like looking at my body, but I’m sooooooo cold. Hey, where’s Ethan?” 

“Oh shot, Ethan!” Some luck was still with us for when I checked him he was still breathing. “Looks like he’ll pull through, but we could both use some healing if you go any Ki left.”

“Maybe, but I’d really prefer to be less chained and less naked before he wakes up,” she said, trying to smile.

“I see your point,” I said, and began to search the Glooms for a set of keys.

 

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

