Just when Things couldn’t get Worse…

November 7, 2011


I sat behind the wheel with Hannah riding next to me. Ethan remained in the back seat and for a lack of anything better to do with them, we had left Hank and Fiona tied up in the rear of the vehicle.

We had been driving up the dirt road that led toward the eastern mountain range that surrounded Telluride. A giant water fall would have brought wonder to my eyes if it weren’t for the mystery of the several hundred missing people.

The switchbacks became steeper and more dangerous, but nothing more threatening that a jack rabbit had appeared in our path. The sun would be setting soon and I silently cursed the ill luck that would have us heading up here in the dark.

“Hey guys check it out,” Ethan said while pointing. “I think we found our missing people.”

And there they were moving along something that seemed more fit for dwarfs in a fantasy novel and not something that should really exist. Narrow mining tracks covered the side of the solid stone mountain like a spider web. Carts full of ore moved back and forth over the precarious path blasted into the side of the rock. Men, women, and even children moved just a couple of notches above zombie speed as they preformed various tasks. I slowed the car to watch and saw that they appeared very organized like ants working on a new nest.

“What the hell is going on?” I asked. “They can’t be doing something as simple as digging for gold, can they?”

Hannah spoke up. “I know a little about this place. These mines were closed decades ago. I suppose that if you have a few hundred mindless slaves you could probably make a profit, but it seems like a lot of work.”

“Yeah, no kidding,” Ethan said. “If I had a horde of zombies or whatever, I’d make them go rob banks and stuff and then just bring the money back to me. I mean shoot, you could have twenty people rob the bank at once. There… would… be… what?”

“That’s what you would do huh?” Hannah said, sounding angry.

“I didn’t mean it like that, I meant-”

And that was when a rock the size of a Thanksgiving Turkey crashed into the front window of the SUV. I skidded the ride trying to keep control.

There was a crazy chittering coming from above. “Where have I heard that before?” I growled. But before too long, a cold blue light blasted our vehicle from above. It stopping moved and so did we. My body froze and I couldn’t do so much as move a finger. For a long moment my eyes stayed open as I fought against this unknown paralysis.

First I saw at least twenty dark shapes running at me. Then slimy gray tentacles as thick as my wrist reach into the vehicle through the shattered windshield. Moments later, there was a grinding tear of metal as the roof of the vehicle got torn away.

The chittering, the tentacles, a Migo! I must not have killed all of them! The undulating ropes of flesh tore my friends and I from the half ruined SUV. Right before unconsciousness claimed me, I saw that one of its thrashing limbs held some weird football shaped pistol.

Then as my vision began to fade I heard a foul laughter echoing through the mountain pass.

“I knew this would attract a Yiggling like you, Jack, and you were a fool to come.”

EDGAR! Was the last thought to pass through my mind before the darkness claimed me.

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

