Trapped Between a Rock, A Madman, and a Hard Place

November 14, 2011


Consciousness returned slowly. I faded in and out of the darkness. However, it didn’t take long for my memory to return and for me to realize I was in some serious trouble.

I kept my body relaxed and loose, for I could hear people talking in the background. I tried to take in my situation. First off, I was half frozen and course stone was digging into my flesh. Everything had been stripped from me, save my shirt, jeans, and luckily my boots. I lay on my side and had what was probably simple handcuffs keeping my arms secured behind my back.

Some ragged breathing could be heard before me and I slit on eye open enough to see Ethan had joined me in my predicament, if not in consciousness.

I felt the vibrations of footsteps heading toward me. “I know you are awake, fool.” Edgar’s voice was grating and cruel. “You can’t hide anything from a powerful Darcarre.”

“I’ll keep that in mind in case I meet one sometime,” I said through gritted teeth.

My statement got me a boot to the stomach for a reward. Then Edgar’s haggard face pressed down close to mine. Close enough for me to see his reddened glazed eyes, which buzzed with madness. “Oh, you’ll be meeting a powerful Darcarre when our task here is through.”

I couldn’t help noticing that he had said, “Our task. What the hell are you talking about?”

His mad eyes bugged out of his tangled head. “I’m searching for something, Primus. Why else would I have come to these foul mountains? You think that I summoned the Migo to destroy the world, again you are a foul. They were to be nothing more than my glorified miners. Now, without their aid, I’ve been forced to do things the old fashioned way.”

He drew in closer. “Now, however, things have changed. Unlike you, I am schooled in the powers of my enemy and know that you Yiggers can move great quantity of earth and stone. Congratulations Primus, you just became my chief miner.”

“Your must have hit your head on a rock if you think I’d work for you.”

“Oh, you’ll work for me Stalwart and your little friend too. For if you don’t, I’ll start collecting pieces off Hannah feed them to my last two Migo.” He finished his statement with a twisted laugh.

“What do you want me to help find.”

“Oh, nothing of great import, just the Multi-verse crown. The crown that will allow me to share my powers with my other incarnations on different worlds and draw on their powers as well. It will just be making me invincible, Primus. Maybe if you play nice, I’ll even let you crown me.” 

Edgar continued laughing long after he had left me fuming in the darkened chamber.

 

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

