Trapped in the Dark

December 12, 2011


We were back inside the cold dark tunnels. More than anything Ethan and I had wanted to make a break for it before we had entered their foul depths. Hell, with a little luck, we probably could have fought most of the villains that held us and still come out on top, but with Hannah being held captive, neither fight nor flight was and option.

Dusk choked my lungs and before we had even reached the active part of the digging, we were covered in chalky grime. We were guarded by a brace of young Darcarre, but the real threat was from one of Edgar’s two remaining Migo, who had devised itself some type of powerful laser pistol. Its tentacles writhed in chaotic patterns and its constant chittering was enough to drive the most steadfast Stalwart mad.

Despite our guards, Ethan drew in close. “I thought we were going to make a break for it before we used up our mystic strength for today.”

“Change in plans,” I grunted.

The Darcarre shifted nervously. Each Darcarre had powerful senses and could probably hear everything we said. This would not keep them from being the first to perish if we did try to escape however.

I had been trying to teach Ethan some of the silent hand signals of Yig. However, I wasn’t sure how much he remembered and in general their method of communication was quite limited and mostly covered battle techniques. I could tell him to attack silently, and things of that nature, but complex issues were impossible.

So I flashed the sign for trickery and hoped that this would be the type of thing a man of Loki would remember.

So it began. Once more, I started up my supernatural powers, granted to me by Yig, and used my Earth Magick to move huge sections of the collapsed tunnels into a bigger area. Once there, Ethan would bake the freed earth with his flames of Loki. These hardened bricks would then be carried to the surface by the poor citizens of Telluride that Edgar controlled as his slaves.

It was grueling and difficult work. Once our Ki was spent we were forced to revert to more mundane ways of clearing the passage. Even my strength was tested after hours of back-breaking work was forced upon us.

When at last we were allowed to limp back to our frigid cabin, I felt like I had worked enough to clear a passage into the other side of the peaks. I leaned against the wall and after a brief and disgusting meal. I was about to let sleep claim me when someone entered the cabin.

At first, I figured it was another Darcarre sent to taunt us, but this one seemed familiar. I remained unsure at first, but then it hit me. “Ink,” I said in shock.

Ink was a member of the sprinkler group of Darcarre than opposed their clan’s alliance, or in their mind enslavement, to Vile Darken. I had figured he had been killed in our last battle against the Creeper his Caradon Allies, but apparently the slippery bastard had been able to escape.

“I can’t talk long,” the pale Darcarre whispered. I was sent to infiltrate these scum by Klich. I know they have your woman and are forcing you to dig for the Consciousness Crown. We can’t let Edgar gain possession of that artifact under any circumstances. If he were to gain its powers he would be nearly unstoppable and-”

“Yeah, no shit.” I interrupted. “What I need to you do is be ready to free Hannah when we make our move. We’ll help you take down this treacherous madman, but only if you and yours keep Hannah safe.”

Ink hesitated for a moment. “I will have to check with Klich, but I think we can manage that, as long as you swear to not hand over the crown to him under pain of death.”

“Agreed, but if anything happens to Hannah the deal is off and I’ll be claiming the head of any Darcarre I come across no matter what side they are on.”

He stared me down, but his black eyes were the first to look away. “Agreed. We will wait for your signal, which in your case, I will assume will be these sounds of our enemy’s screams.”

Ethan laughed. “You know him well.”

“The other guard returns. I must leave. Don’t let us down Stalwart.”

“Yeah, ditto.”

Ink then hurried out of our cabin and Ethan turned to me. “This could get interesting.”

“My thoughts exactly.”

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

