To Many…Me

January 9, 2012


The dark cave exploded into eight hundred rays of blinding light. Soon is brilliance would have shamed a cloudless June afternoon. I continued to scream as the crown settled on my head and the others, including Ethan, backed away in fear.

I couldn’t be sure whether my enemies fled or were about to attack as the pain from wearing the Consciousness Crown dropped me to my knees. I cried out when hundreds of images tore at my mind. I saw myself, again and again, a thousand forms, a thousand visions. My eyes were awash with a montage of battles. But it wasn’t all fighting. I saw other ‘mes’ at leisure, making love to dozens of different women, In some cases even doing mundane things, like watching a movie or riding my motorcycle down a highway.

Yet, the fighting was there more than not. More foes that I’d care to count were battled. Some were recognizable Xemmoni, but others were hideous forms that threatened to rip my mind apart. I saw my death too. Not all of my incarnations still lived. And a burning hatred filled my gut with rage when I saw the face of Vile Darken involved with killing me again and again.

Ethan might have been shaking me, but I could barely feel him. Through the attack of these distorted tumbling visions, I saw one of the Darcarre rushing in and Ethan attacking him with a shovel.

I tried to focus and see past the insanity. If I couldn’t, we would all be doomed. I attempted to ground myself with thoughts of Hannah and vengeance against Vile Darken. This helped me enough that I saw the Migo raising its odd shaped pistol.

Like a monster moving before a movie screen, I still saw the flashing colors of a thousand lives dancing over the undulating tentacles of the foul creature. My eyes tried to pierce through these visions and I raised my hands. We had conserved our Ki and enough should have remained for me to use one of my Earth spells on it.

My hand shot forward and the Earth erupted like never before. The stone itself became a colossal fist, a hammer of Yig! Never before had any of my spells been so powerful and the Migo erupted in a splatter of putrid puss.

Despite being half mad and mostly blind, my own fist lashed out and punched the Darcarre in the face—and passed right through his head. It died instantly.

Through the waves of a myriad voices and battles, I heard Ethan trying to communicate. “Oh crap, Jack. That was amazing. No wonder that creep Edgar wants this crown. Jack. JACK! Are you okay? Can you even hear me?”

“There are too many. How can there be so many. How can there be so many worlds, so many mes?’

“Jack, maybe you should take it off for now. The other Darcarre ran off. Edgar and his freaks will be coming.”

My hands moved up and grasped the Consciousness Crown. “I can’t, I won’t come off!”

Jack in the mines

Click here to grab more action!!!

Leave a Reply

