Impossible Odds

March 5, 2012


Three Hundred possessed Coloradoans where making quick work of the wooden shack Ethan and I had hid ourselves in. Another six inch hole burned through the roof from above as the last Migo fired its oblong laser pistol at us. On its back, Edgar was so confident of his victory that he hadn’t even bothered to throw a Bestow at us yet. I suspected, having worn it myself, that the Conscious Crown was driving him more than half mad and the Darcarre seemed to enjoy hurling more insults than attacks our way.

I shouted a few words at Ethan. He was bracing the door shut in a loosing battle to keep the possessed citizens of Telluride out, while I had grabbed a stay board off the floor.

“From what we know it’s the Migo that’s keeping all these people possessed, right?”

“I would say so,” Ethan grunted as the door opened two more inches. “Most likely it has a machine that enhances some natural ability. But Jack we have no idea where the machine is.”

“I was going to go at it the other way around,” I said with a growl. Beneath me I used more of my precious Ki to lengthen and straighten the board. Soon Yig’s blessings flowed through me and the board had become a ten-foot pike. “If this is the last Migo, I’m hoping the spell will die with it.”

“I looked over at Ethan. If this works, you need to keep those other Darcarre off my back while I make a go at Edgar.”

“Great, as long as we are each trying the impossible, then I guess it’s fair.” The door cracked behind him and opened five more inches. To my left a hole appeared in a wall and arms reached for my legs.

“Alright you motha. Get a little closer.” As I slipped to the side, I moved under one of the burn holes, so I had a good view of most of the sky above the roof. Ethan started screaming and taunting Edgar.

Edgar yelled down at us. “Fools. You have no idea what the true nature of reality is and how I will be rewarded for killing each of you. Primus, and even you Ethan, are plagues to my people. You have each been killed on dozens of worlds and I’m about to add mine to that list.”

Ethan stared at me with shock in his eyes, before taunting Edgar again. The Darcarre brought the Migo in for a shot. With Ethan down, the door would fly open and the game was done.

Instead, I waited as long as I dared and just as the Migo took aim I leaped up and extended my arms over my head. The long pike increased my reach and stabbed the Migo through the center of its chest. I had stabbed it so hard that I heard Edgar cry out as the spear also pierced his thigh.

The door splintered open as Ethan rushed to my aid. Hands and faces surrounded us. This would be our last chance and we put everything into that attack. As one, we forced the Migo to the ground like and angler making a cast. The Migo screamed as his ninety degree arc ended with it smashing face first into the stone below.

All around us the townspeople slowly came out of their daze. They had stopped attacking us, but still blocked us in every direction.

“Where am I?’ and other clichés escaped from their lips, but I didn’t have time for any of this. Pushing them aside I dashed out the ruined door. They slowed me horribly, but I still couldn’t hurt them.

Ethan honored his word and tried to cut of the gang of Darcarre that had remained just a short distance to the south. I went for Edgar.

He was just getting to his feet as I pushed through the last of the formerly possessed. He had already cured himself and as I approached he laughed while drawing a sword whose blade was a type of moving darkness. On his head, the Conscious Crown glittered over a set of black eyes that blazed with madness.

I pulled my broke pike out of the dead Migo’s guts and said, “Come on Edgar, let’s make this happen!”

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

