Jack Primus Versus Edgar, Last Round

March 26, 2012


I had just managed to knock Edgar enchanted crown off his head, but still faced  perhaps the most powerful Xemmoni I had ever fought with little more than a big stick, while he was at full strength and had a wavering sword that appeared to be made from oscillating black smoke.

“I don’t need the Consciousness Crown to take care of the likes of you Primus, especially in your weakened state.”

“Who said anything about being weak?” I shouted, as I tried to lance forward and hit the Darcarre leader in the face. I was rewarded by losing another foot of the end of my spear.

“Primus, I will almost hate to see you go. Tormenting you has been such fun. Oh, but by the looks of things you won’t be the first of your kind to fall.”

Even as he spoke, I heard Ethan cry out. My only ally within eyesight fought an impossible battle trying to hold ten Darcarre at bay. It looked like he had managed to drop two of them, but now the remaining eight were all over him.

Casting a glance in his direction almost cost me my life, for as soon as my head was turned, Edgar fenced forward driving his evil black blade at my heart. Only a quick turn of my body and backpedaling several yards kept the battle form being over right there. As it was, the smoke scorched me. The pain was blinding and I hated to imagine what a full on hit would do.

“I’ve had enough of this Primus. Let’s finish this dance!” He came in at me with huge two handed swings.

I kept backpedaling, but had altered my direction so I began to head to toward yawning precipice that dropped a thousand feet back into Telluride. Edgar noticed what I was doing, but misinterpreted my intensions. “You’ll never reach the crown, Jack. I’ll cut you in half if you so much as look in its direction, you fool!”

“Not everyone is as crazy as you, you maggot brained bastard!” I shouted moments before I readied my spear. Edgar snarled and rushed forward to finish the battle. As he neared, I launched my spear, not at him, but rather the ground between his boots. As I hoped the unexpected move tripped up his feet.

He stumbled forward and as he did, I went in low. Like a batter slipping into home plate, I skidded over the ground on my side and left leg shot forward and hit Edgar in the shine.

He started to fall, but using his own momentum, I kicked my right foot into his chest as my hand went up and grabbed his forearm. Then, using all the strength I had, I flipped Edgar past me and sent him screaming over the edge of the cliff.

His scream stretched out to impossible lengths as he fell, but I hadn’t even had time to let my good fortune sink in before another scream drowned out my enemy’s

Jack

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

