One Man, One Motorcycle

April 30, 2012


My hands clenched into fists so tightly they creaked. As Hannah entered Klich’s black Darcarre van, it felt like a kidnapping, but looked more like an innocent girl going on her first date with ‘the bad boy.’

She waved back at me, but I just wanted this to be over. I could tell she was crying, but the Splinter Darcarre couldn’t have cared less and they shut the side door of the van with a loud slam.

I could have used hearing some wise crack from Ethan at this point, but he was gone forever. As I watched the black van depart, I couldn’t help but think that Hannah was too.

“Damn it,” I said under my breath. A few of the folks we had rescued lingered about, but none dared to disturb me. Soon my rigid stance sent them wandering away.

The wind blew my hair against my face and I sighed. Only my bike and I remained in the empty dirt lot outside of Telluride. A poster spoke of an upcoming festival, but such normal thoughts and activities were no longer part of my existence. For better or worse, I’d become a hero. A Stalwart.

With that came certain responsibilities. No one had trained me for this life or forced me to do it. I fought on because I knew I needed to, I had to. Sometimes it made me feel better, but not now.

I gazed at the towering spine of The Rockies. Two states to the north an evil festered. I’d learned more about Drake on my journey than when I had actually worked with him. He wasn’t of my Earth, not really. But this didn’t keep him from wanting to own it, torture it, and destroy it.

Vincent Drake had become Vile Darken and would be the most powerful villain I had ever faced.

Good.

I need something to take my mind off of this crap.

With a roar, my bike started up. I cast one last look at the mountain where Ethan had given his life to help free us from Edgar’s evil goals.

“Screw it. I’m coming for you Vile.”

The bike tore onto the highway heading north leaving just dirt and dust behind.

Want to get in on how Jack began his adventures? Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

