Jacks Or Worse

November 7, 2016


Jack and Tynilia kept to the alley and back streets, but every time they encountered someone, the individual or group would turn their way and give them a glassy eyed stare before walking in their direction.

.

hero

.

“Jack, I’m really reconsidering my choice to accompany you back to our planet,” she said, as they jogged past a group of cooks smoking behind a restaurant. Each of the men dropped their cigarettes and started to powerwalk after them.

 

“Yeah, it doesn’t seem like we’re trapped in a zombie movie, minus the gore.”

.

crowds

 

.

“What’s a movie?”

 

“Never mind, but I hear what you’re saying,” he said as he grasped his lover’s hand and took them down a narrow alley to their left. “I just need some answers. If this somehow is my world, then it would be my duty to save it.”

 

He stopped and looked back at the gathering crowd of eighty people on their trail. His hands rose while he chanted a few words under his breath.

 

“And if it isn’t your world?”

 

Summoning the strength of Yig, he felt thankful, his God’s presence remained, but it did feel weaker than usual. Whatever planet he might be on, the Stalwart Gods appeared to be losing.

 

“If it isn’t my world…” a wall of earth erupted through the pavement and blocked the end of the alley. Sand a gravel rained down, but for the moment they had stopped their pursuers. He turned to her, “I like the idea of helping every decent world in their battle against Vile and I’m happy I was able to help turn the tide against that bastard on your planet, but if this isn’t my world… I think I’m inclined to leave. My own planet needs me. After I help my world, if I can, then we’ll worry about being intergalactic Stalwarts,” he grabbed her hand and they took off at a half run, “but until then, I need to get home.”

 

“I hope this isn’t your world then.”

 

“Me too.”

 

*         *         *

 

Although it remained early, Phillip’s pub, the Baccanaght, was open. Jack grabbed the handle and rushed in. A few boozehounds drank at the bar and within shaded booths. A few working men looked like they’d dropped in for a liquid lunch.

 

Everything within Baccanaght gleamed in various tones of tans and browns. Jack could feel the mystic strength which flowed through the place and as he led Tynilia between the pool tables to the bar, he noted the costumers within the establishment didn’t look at them any stranger than normal people should when confronted with a sexy Mayan sorceress and a tall man wearing armor with a four-foot hammer strapped to his back.

 

“Jack! By the wine soaked beard, what in Hades happened to you?” Phillip called at them from behind the bar. His concern blossomed into a smile. “And who’s this lovely young flower of darkness?”

.

T II

.

“Darkness,” Tynilia said, placing her small hands on her hips.

 

“Well you do follow Tez,” Jack said under his breath.

 

“True,” she said, while looking around. “So far this is the best place you have taken me to.”

 

“Glad to hear it,” Phillip said with a warm smile and placed a glass of wine on the bar in front of her. Jack received a pitcher of Harpoon and a clean glass.

.

Phillip Brownhurst

.

He released a breath he hadn’t know he’d been holding and the couple sat at the bar.

 

Phillip let a few sips make it into their tired forms before he said, “So ah, Jack, you need to fill me on what happened to you. Who’s your beautiful new friend and why are you, uh, wearing armor, my brother.”

 

Seeing his friend and being within the mystical safety of Baccanaght helped Jack relax, but he still wasn’t too sure how far he should go with his explanation. Tynilia stared at him as he began.

 

“Well you remember when we went up against Vile Darken in the commons? What did you see that night?”

 

“Vile who? What battle?” He chuckled. “Did you start drinking before you came here.”

 

His stomach clenched. Phillip seemed the same, but something remained off.

 

Jack tried to cover his tracks and allowed himself a half-laugh. “You like my act so far. Ty and I will be performing in a LARP near Quincy Market. You know, it always helps to make a few extra bucks.”

 

“Um, okay. I thought you were about the last person I knew who is hurting for money though.” Phillip gazed at him for a long moment. “Jack, I like the new look, I really do.” His eyes quinted, “but how did you get your hair so much longer?”

 

“Yig allows me to…”

.

devon

.

“Oh yeah, the Yig thing.”

 

At least he knows who Yig is, Jack mused and took another sip of his ale.

 

Behind him the door to Baccanaght opened.

 

Tynilia looked back before he had a chance. “Oh no Jack, JACK! Look out, run!”

.

4444444

.

Whipping around, he had just enough time to see a couple had entered the pub. The woman was a gorgeous young brunette with a slim body and an easy stride. But with her was…him. Another Jack Primus, in his usual outfit of leather, jeans, and boots.

 

Then it hit him. Reality twisted. He knew two incarnations couldn’t occupy the same space, but had never experienced what happened when they did and he heard Tynilia cry out as his existence tore apart and was he flung out into the Multiverse.

 

 

.

The Baron

.

 

Come Back next Monday for more of Jack’s Brand Spanking New Adventure!

.

Amy Face

 

.

 

Learn more about Jack Primus Here

.

.

Darcarre Villain

Leave a Reply

